Week 10-Artist Conversation-

Hello, I would like to start off by saying that I broke my phone :c I do not have any of the pictures I took. The information I have is from memory.

Exhibition Information

Artist: 
Exhibition: The Untold Story of the Romanian Blouse
Media: Cloth
Gallery: CSULB School of Art Gallery, Gatov East
Website: N/A
Instagram: N/A

About the Artist:

The artist is currently getting her MA here at CSULB in art history. It was interesting to see a change because usually we expect the artist to be a studio art major or a photography major. When she told me she majored in art history, I was a little surprised. The inspiration of her gallery was her childhood; she grew up in Romania and moved to the U.S. later in life. She had fond memories of living with her grandmother in the country side wearing the traditional Romanian clothes that she had display in her gallery today.

Formal Analysis:

From afar, without even walking in yet, the clothes caught my eyes. I was drawn to them because I wanted to see what the artist was trying to achieve by putting up clothes. There was a cohesive bohemian look to the clothes. Each blouse was a white-yellowish color with different thread pattern and thread color. The clothing option ranged from blouses, the majority, to skirts, to jackets. On each piece of clothing, there would be small imperfections purposefully put there. For example, a blouse would be symmetrical besides this one location, which would have either different pattern or added symbols. Through her gallery and her explanation, I was able to learn more about the Romanian culture.

Content Analysis

Unbeknownst to me, each thread work had different meanings. For example, some patterns represented rain, others represented air. Each color had it’s own meaning as well. It was interesting because through the combination of thread color and pattern, historians are able to pinpoint the village of where the blouse came from and even what social class they belonged to. The small imperfections found on each piece of clothing was significant to the Romanian culture. They believed that only God can be perfect and create perfect things. Therefore, when creating their clothing, they didn’t want it to be “perfect” because they didn’t want to challenge God.

Synthesis/My Experiences:

Honestly, this was one of the more interesting exhibits. Just from hearing her and her husband talk, I was amazed from their passion. I learned so much about their culture just by talking to them. When I first walked in, I thought these were present day clothing because a lot of designers create the “bohemian” look that derives from Romanian clothing. Although the Romanian fashion dates back to almost 1930’s, it is still very present in today’s society. Even the Valentino collection in 2015 featured a jacket that was very oddly similar to a Romanian politician back in the day.

Leave a Reply

